Going into Extra Time

I’ve never been good at introductory posts so let me try to explain what this blog is about and what it’s going to be about.

It’s about football.

You know. Association football. Soccer, if you prefer.

More specifically, it’s about being a football fan. It’s about the experience of watching a sport that often feels more than just a sport. It’s about the relevance of the beautiful game in the lives of one and many others. It’s about joy and suffering. Society and self. The fun and seriousness of it all.

This is about the game I’ve learned to love and how much I want to share that love with you, the reader.

Why Extra Time?

Anyone who knows me knows I’ve talked about football extensively in every social media outlet available — Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. However, I’ve always felt like they weren’t the appropriate platforms for me to share my thoughts. It’s too small. Too social.

I needed a platform where I could freely jot things down without bogging down people’s news feeds and timelines with essays on a subject they probably don’t care about. Thus, I’ve decided to start a blog.

If you’re reading this and you know nothing about football outside of maybe David Beckham and the FIFA World Cup… First of all, I want to thank you for your support!

Second, I’ll explain the title for you: a regular football match is 90 minutes long and played over two halves consisting of 45 minutes each. This is called regulation time. When there’s a tournament, for example, and the match ends in a draw, the match goes into extra time which is an additional 30 minutes (two halves of 15 minutes). When a winner hasn’t been decided in that period, it goes into a penalty shootout where everyone dies collectively of heart attacks.

It wasn’t easy coming up with a title for a blog. I ultimately decided on Extra Time because this blog is a passion project first and foremost, so I will only write when I have the time.

I also like the name because it’s all about going beyond which describes my vision for this blog perfectly. I want to talk about things that go beyond the sporting aspect of the game.

Now, I hope this introductory post was up to your standards. It’s only going to get longer and more rambly from here, mind you. So thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

